piano phonotope    

piano phonotope

piano phonotope
Cecilia Li, piano

Published 2011 by
shiuling records

€ 20,- exclusive of shipping costs
[Order...Mail to: office@cecilia-li.com]

also available at:
Eslite Bookstore
Windsong Music Group
Haus der Musik, Seilerstätte 30, 1010 Vienna

Joseph Haydn: Sonata in F Major, Hob. XVI:23
I. Allegro moderato
II. Larghetto adagio
III. Finale presto

Domenico Scarlatti:   Sonata in F Minor, K 466, L118

David Lang: “cello” from “memory pieces” for solo piano

Franz Schubert: from “Drei Klavierstücke” no. 3, Allegretto

Philip Glass: “Metamorphosis Two” for solo piano

Total time: 47'02''


Using the Power of Thought

"Sometimes something special comes along and is not discovered by the wider public. One such phenomenon is the Viennese pianist Cecilia Li. Originally from Taipei , she attended Salzburg 's Mozarteum, then studied at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna . Today she lives and works in the centre of the Austrian capital.
  Listening to her Haydn (F Major, Hob. XVI:23) or to Schubert's E Major Piano Sonata it is clear that she has that she has absorbed the local sensibility with every fibre of her body. Alongside a stately precision, Li's touch has a delicate vein which encourages listeners to pay attention, continually making them prick up their ears. Baroque pearls by Domenico Scarlatti and the spherical, repetitive modernity of David Lang or Philp Glass combine to form an intelligent whole. Metamorphosis Two by Glass not only marks the end of the recital; it is a statement about the continual need for change. In the soft clusters of contemporary music Cecilia Li catches piano music's continual transformation. Yes, it is worth letting yourself fall, worth listening and thinking along."

Daniel Wagner

Wiener Zeitung , ProgrammPunkte, 4-10 February 2012, p.5.